WiFi, drones, sharp blades and dull humans

Hi blog.

So, I didn’t get a second post out in April. And I nearly get a single post out this month.

The weather has been unstable. The karate competition was nothing to write home about (well, I came second in men’s kyu grade kata… a division with all of seven competitors…). The Yoshitaka Walk was just retreading old ground. I spotted a bull frog in the Azuma River, but the photos are terrible quality. I found some interesting fungi, but have not been able to identify them.

My second-place medal. What was better than winning this was receiving a bit of praise from Terauchi Sensei.
Just before the Yoshitaka Walk. This year I did the walk with Saori, one of my first students from 2005.
Full zoom doesn’t do anything for picture quality. I bet you’d be hard pressed to identify this as a bullfrog from the image.
Hey, I’m a fungi. … I’ll see myself out…

I was tempted to just write a “I give up” post just to make sure I would get SOMETHING out this month.

Then, social media to the rescue. Which is ironic, because I had “sin binned” the Japan Times for two months after it flooded my newsfeed with nothing but either stories about a certain baseball player or Japan fluff pieces.

https://www.japantimes.co.jp/news/2024/05/23/japan/whaling-ship-technology/

WiFi, drones and sharp blades on Japan’s whaling mother ship

Japan's new whaling mother ship, the Kangei Maru, arrives at Ariake pier in Tokyo on Thursday.
Japan’s new whaling mother ship, the Kangei Maru, arrives at Ariake pier in Tokyo on Thursday. | AFP-JIJI

A crew member shows a large knife for cutting up whales on the Kangei Maru on Thursday.
A crew member shows a large knife for cutting up whales on the Kangei Maru on Thursday. | AFP-JIJI

Article ends.

Ooh, that Tokoro character sounds like a particularly nasty character. Like the head of a cigarette company trying to get young people to smoke. Or the head of a drug cartel, only with less charm. Plus, the “(insert ocean creature/ unpopular nationality here) are eating all the fish” cliched arguments – somehow, catches can never be down because WE overfished.

I expect that we will see an increase of whale meat appearing in school lunches, particularly in western Japan, in an attempt to boost the consumer base.

Incidentally, it seems that the decision to also hunt fin whales is down to – you guessed it – profitability. Apparently fin whale is more palatable (less unpalatable?). Well, there goes any milligram of credibility the “research” label had.

And if you are caught hunting whales outside of Japanese territorial waters, I hope you catch the full fury of international law.

This entry was posted in Suburban wildlife and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment