Death on Fuji

Hi, blog.

It’s almost the end of the month, and I almost had nothing to write about.

The rainy season finally started some two weeks later than normal and brought several days of sporadic very heavy rain instead of several consecutive days of consistent normal rain.

What was I going to blog about? Actually, it was this very morning that that particular question crossed my mind on my way to work. And, a part of my brain answered, “Something will come up.” And something did.

Mt. Fuji is often hidden by clouds or haze at this time of year. I mangaged to get a couple of decent views, but most of the snow had melted. I guess the mountain was also on the periphery of my conciousness partly due to seemingly endless news articles about plans to limit the number of climbers on the mountain, or proposals to charge foreign tourists more to climb; and partly because the last time I climbed it was in early June, 2002.

And truly climbed it. Most climbers start at the Kawaguchi 5th station, accessed by bus, about half way up the mountain. However, on that climb, Ian and I started at Lake Motosu, some 10 km from the base of Mt. Fuji.

I remember there being snow around the summit, a couple of other climbers, and Ian making a wrong turn and taking a slide for 20 metres or so. (And me feeling sick to my stomach as I saw him tumble).

As Ian said,

Words of wisdom.

Not that I can’t see the appeal of climbing outside of the official season. My first climb was in September of 1999. So many people tried telling me that it was impossible to climb after August 31st, almost as if the mountain would be closed.

In fact, a number of the (over-priced) huts were still open for business and there was a fair number of climbers.

As for climbing “in season”, well I did that once… Essentially just one big queue up to the summit… Take a few steps, wait, repeat…

While millions of people make the climb every year, it must be remembered that Fuji is a real mountain, and real mountains can kill. Temperatures at the summit even in the early afternoon in the middle of summer barely reach double digits. The summit is high enough to bring on altitude sickness. And a sudden gust of wind or rainstorm could have deadly results.

And, tragically, four people have died on the mountain in the last few days.

From the Asahi Shimbun.

https://www.asahi.com/ajw/articles/15322181

Four die on Mount Fuji before start of climbing season

THE ASAHI SHIMBUN

June 27, 2024 at 14:27 JST

Photo/Illutration

Article ends.

Please stay safe. Enjoy being in the great outdoors, but never fail to respect nature.

This entry was posted in Suburban wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment