Under Repair

2 Jul

Hi blog.

Right now, much of Wild in Japan looks like this:

These are not the photos you are looking for. Move along.

When I first started Wild in Japan, I was (in retrospect, foolishly) concerned about the amount of storage on the free WordPress sites – I thought I would run out of storage very quickly and so instead uploaded my photos to an online photo hosting site I already had an account for.

The photo hosting site was often slow, its user interface was sometimes unresponsive, and it kept opening ads.  I was willing to overlook these simply because it was free.  Then, as of June 27th, that hosting site ceased to allow free third party hosting – i.e. displaying a photo stored there on another website (such as Wild in Japan).  For that, I would have to pay for one of their plans.

Wild in Japan is just a little hobby on the side – I can’t justify putting any real money into it.  I was maybe willing to pay a few hundred yen per month to keep it up and running.  However, the hosting site wanted US $399.99 per year to allow third party hosting!

I actually considered closing the site or deleting all my old posts and starting again from scratch – most of my posts represent and investment of only an hour or so.  However, a few are the result of considerable research and work.

The other option was the long and tedious task of relocating all the photos to another hosting site and re-linking them, one by one… and hoping that whatever site I hosted them on would not suddenly and arbitrarily change its terms of service.

WordPress currently offers 3GB of media storage on its free sites.  After some calculating, I have concluded that my best option is to move all my media content over to WordPress and keep everything on the one site.  If I run into storage issues, I can consider a low-cost plan.

So please bear with me as the images are moved and re-linked.  This will take some time.

 

5 Responses to “Under Repair”

  1. Holly Harvey Thursday, July 6, 2017 at 3:07 am #

    Sorry to hear about your photo service. Good luck with the move. I really enjoy your blog.

  2. celicaxx Wednesday, July 5, 2017 at 7:46 am #

    Damn man, that really sucks. I knew the writing was on the wall with photobucket a long time ago, but this is pretty insane. Hope the move goes well. It looks like photobucket will be out of business soon, and this was a last hurrah for the CEO to move to the Cayman Islands or something.

    • wildinjapan Wednesday, July 5, 2017 at 8:32 pm #

      Thanks for the shout.
      However, some of my photos are probably only in storage, so I don’t want that particular hosting site to go under.

      • celicaxx Friday, July 7, 2017 at 4:06 pm #

        Ah, well, I hope everything can be recovered. But to me it looks like they will go under sooner rather than later. :/


        Anyway, I actually didn’t make it to Japan yet, but made it to Taiwan, and saw these growing at the beach there. Do you have any idea what these things are?

      • wildinjapan Saturday, July 8, 2017 at 7:50 pm #

        I’m stuck as to the identity of your tropical fruit trees… I’m pretty sure I’ve seen those illustrated on snacks from Taiwan, but have no idea what they are. Not durians, paw paws, jackfruit…

Leave a Reply

