A Day in Kamakura

19 Apr

“And there is a Japanese idol at Kamakura”

Rudyard Kipling

 

Kamakura, after some half-dozen visits, still remains my favourite travel destination in Japan.  If fate had swung differently, and I hadn’t put down roots in Saitama, I probably would have made an effort to live there.

Sandwiched between the sea and hills, this coastal city is rich in history and – if you can sneak away from the tourist traps – the opportunity to engage in some good hikes.  My most recent trip was not to be so (boss wife, kids and in-laws in tow), and one of the “highlights” of the trip would be eating the city’s famed whitebait.

[I have never really grasped this preoccupation with travel for the express purpose of eating some purportedly famous dish.  Nor am I a fan of whitebait – it’s essentially a collection of eyes, scales and backbones and other parts of a fish you probably wouldn’t normally eat anyway.  Just let them grow up, OK?]

 

It was a clear and sunny day (the cool breeze helped keep the clouds away) and the city was fairly crowded.  (I knew we should have left home earlier…)

 

Our first stop, despite protests of being tired and hungry, was Engakuji in Kitakamakura.  I had wanted to visit here for a long time, mostly because of its monument to Gichin Funakoshi, the “father of modern karate” – a concept that non-karate people find hard to appreciate.   This revelation of the plot brought further protests, but actually the kids enjoyed their little stroll around the temple grounds.  One really needs at least an hour to enjoy the place, but stomachs were rumbling and – heaven forbid – the whitebait might all be sold out, so it was back on the train for Kamakura proper and lunch.

空手に先手なし “Karate ni sente nashi” There is no first attack in karate – Gichin Funakoshi

 

This bell at Engakuji is a national treasure.

 

After lunch we headed for Tsurugaoka Hachiman-gu. I never tire of seeing this place, and this was my first visit since the giant ginkgo tree had been brought down in a typhoon, so I was curious to see what had become of it.

The stump of the old ginkgo. Apparently, it has taken root.

En route, my son fell asleep, so I took my daughter for a short walk to see the grave of warlord Minamoto no Yoritomo, founder of the Kamakura Shogunate.

The approach to Yoritomo’s grave. That’s a shrine on the left.

 

Yoritomo’s grave

A rickshaw paused under the cherry blossoms on our return route to the Hachiman Shrine.

On our way back to the Hachiman shrine I pointed out the black kites (Milvus migrans lineatus) to my daughter and encouraged her to listen for their shrill cries.  I even spotted a nest. 

Known locally as tobi or tonbi (鳶), these birds are particularly associated with the Kamakura-Enoshima area, where they have gained an unfortunate reputation for stealing food from visitors.

For me, however, the relationship with black kites goes back to my days in Hokkaido, and the call of the kites brings back memories of wide open spaces with breath-taking mountain views.  If I believed in fortunate omens, the kite would top the list.

Anyway, the kites also play an important role in helping control the Formosan squirrel (Callosciurus erythraeus thaiwanensis) which now runs feral in the Kamakura area.  I didn’t notice any of these squirrels, known in Japan as taiwanrisu (大弯栗鼠) on this trip, although I have seen them in the city on previous trips.  They are now thought to outnumber native squirrels and are out-competing them.

 

The main shrine building viewed from the approach.

 

The shrine also serves as a Tendai temple, and here is one of the Nio statues in the form of Yoritomo.

 

Having explored the Hachiman area sufficiently and even seen Shinto wedding ceremonies taking place, we woke up my son and took the Enoshima line to Hase to visit the Great Buddha

 

Approaching the Great Buddha.

 

You start to appreciate the size as you get closer.

Up close its size is quite daunting.

This is another sight worth visiting again and again – centuries old, 12 metre tall bronze statues can’t be found just anywhere.  The fact that it is not housed in any kind of building (not since the last one was washed away in a tsunami several centuries ago) makes for easy photography.  Unfortunately, time was running short, and access to the inside of the statue – yes, you can pay ¥20 to go inside – had finished, much to the disappointment of at least one little boy, as this was what he had been looking forward to the whole trip.  The light was failing, and soon the Kotoku-in announced closing time.  And time for us to head back home.

The two-metre or so straw sandals at Kotoku-in.

In retrospect, any future trips to Kamakura (and there will be!) should start much earlier.  I would have liked to have spent more time at Engakuji.  A hike to Tsurugaoka via Zeniarai Benten Ugafuku shrine would have been far more interesting than a JR train ride.  I would have liked to have visited the Hase Kannon and explored Enoshima.

 

If you find yourself around Tokyo with a free day or two, Kamakura is a must.  My recommendation?  Spend two days there and explore the whole area!

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “A Day in Kamakura”

  1. celicaxx April 19, 2014 at 11:04 pm #

    Ah, thanks for the recommendation. Does look pretty cool, the giant Buddha statue.

    Also, regarding whitebait, it’s made of anchovies, right? I eat dried tiny anchovies, I buy them from the Vietnamese market. They’re a good snack. I’ve always been a bit afraid to try the fresh ones, though. I’m assuming dried they’re probably better as the bones and meat of the fish would be the same texture, whereas cooking them fresh you’d get the mouth full of bones feeling you’re talking about. Never gave them a try fresh, though. The closest I’ve gotten is eating sardines/anchovies from a can like that.

    • wildinjapan April 20, 2014 at 6:36 am #

      Thanks for the shout!

      I will eat cooked whitebait when it is a minor ingredient in a dish, but I don’t particularly like it.
      As for eating it raw for its own sake, forget it! http://ja.wikipedia.org/wiki/%E3%83%95%E3%82%A1%E3%82%A4%E3%83%AB:Shirasu_boshi02.jpg

      • celicaxx April 21, 2014 at 3:06 am #

        Yeah, I meant raw fish then me/someone else cook it, not just eat it raw for the hell of it. I dunno, if someone gave it to me if I was in Japan perhaps I’d eat it raw at least to try.

        Also, I’d like to let you know that Asian giant hornets are being spotted in America now, actually fairly close to me. This makes me feel wonderful. Unfortunately a doctor here probably will not think my excuse of getting stung by a rare invasive hornet while hiking to be a valid excuse for having an epi-pen, which is RX only here in USA.

        So we get good invasive species and bad from Japan. Nice things like Japanese wineberries and silverberry (both of which are federally classified as noxious weeds even though they’re edible, very logical) and bad things like those hornets potentially soon and kudzu (kudzu has lots of potential, I don’t see why we’re creating GMO soybeans to feed cows when that stuff is growing wild and free.)

        http://www.arlingtoncardinal.com/2012/07/deadly-asian-giant-hornet-spotted-in-arlington-heights-not-cicada-killer-wasp/

      • wildinjapan April 21, 2014 at 5:48 am #

        Ah, giant hornets. I’ll have to write about those things someday.

Leave a Reply

