The things you see when you don’t have a camera

21 Jul

Just a brief collection of assorted pics hastily taken with my mobile phone.  These are ones that actually turned out – my attempts to photograph herons, kingfishers, lizards and tree frogs with  my mobile inevitably end up as tiny blurs – assuming I even have time to get the thing out of my pocket and switch to camera mode.

How I wish I could afford to carry a real camera around with me all the time, as there are encounters that happen anywhere.

Like this snake…

A snake just outside my school entrance. It slithered into the bushes before I could get a decent shot or identify it.

And this…

A spider of the genus Argiope. Note the stabilimentum (web decoration). This was taken at an amusement park.

Or this…

An unidentified insect – I guess it’s a bush cricket (katydid). This one was about 3 cm long.

A little closer…

And this…

A snail by the roadside. The shell was about 3 cm across.

A closer look. At least this one didn’t get away!

Saving those yen…

5 Responses to “The things you see when you don’t have a camera”

  1. Frankie August 17, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    CAVE CRICKET!! We wondered what they were (me and the kid). We saw about 60 in a drain at the back way up to Inariyama-koen in Sayama. We actually caught one and were surprised how big they were!

  2. wildinjapan July 24, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    Update – I have identified the cricket like insect to be a cave cricket Diestrammena apicalis apicalis or kamadouma (竈馬), a relative of the giant wetas.

    • Frankie August 21, 2012 at 4:44 am #

      Regarding the cave cricket, I was told that it was a familiar sight in the traditional outdoor toilets that Japanese homes used to have. They dwelt in that hole in the ground.

      • wildinjapan August 29, 2012 at 5:06 am #

        Yep, a colloquial name for it was benjokorogi (便所コロオギ), literally “toilet cricket”. The common name is a reference to their being found around the kitchen, particularly the old hearth or kamado. The “uma” part of the name suggests a horse-like appearance.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cave Cricket, Anyone? « Wild in Japan - November 24, 2012

    […] relative of the giant weta, the largest insect on Earth.  I got a couple of photos back in an earlier post, but this one came to me.  And this time I had an insect cage and […]

Leave a Reply

